Musings #9

IMG_0102

On Eric McTexas’ biography of Dietrich Bonhoeffer

I have been reading this book for over a year. Yup, it feels strange. I’m usually a fast reader πŸ‘¨πŸΎβ€πŸ«. The book is about 600 pages and I’m more than halfway through but I’m holding off on reading it too quickly.
Β It’s a biography and he dies in the end. He was executed.

The last time I read a biography in which the subject died (assassinated), it was gotten out of the way quickly – even before the main book began. It was sort of a prelude and I loved the book even more for that. I’m referring to the Autobiography of Malcolm X.
Let me share a few lessons from the book;
  • Our lives comprises of the seemingly infinite small moments that lead up to the decisions/actions we make in those oh so few “big decision/life changing” moments. I’ve culled that from another book I’m currently reading but it is also valid.
“In the end, we don’t become who we are all at once; we take our time, lose some and gain some.” – Damore
  • Β We all stand for something – nominally, adopted, relatively, absolutely or strongly but we never really know until we are tested in adversity. Therein we know if we are willing to “die” for it.
Β The mind is a powerful thing. To be self-deceived is the worst. Man, know thyself.
Β On John Piper’s “Esther
I read this book over the weekend. It’s a short poetry book. He stays true to the biblical and historical account of Queen Esther’s life while fictionalising the missing/absent parts. I enjoyed the book.
He’s a wonderful poet. My favourite poem of His is still the one he wrote for his son on his wedding; Love Her More and Love Her Less. It’s beautiful 😍.
In his introduction to the book, he aptly describes Poetry and the motions Poets go through πŸ‘ŒπŸΎ.
“What I mean by Poetry is this: “An effort to share a moving experience by using language that is chosen and structured differently from ordinary prose.” Sometimes it rhymes. Sometimes it doesn’t. Sometimes it has regular cadence. Sometimes it doesn’t. But almost always, the poet has experienced something – something horrible or wonderful or ordinary – and he feels he must share it. Using words differently from ordinary prose is his way of trying to awaken something of this experience (and more) in the reader.”
“Blaise Pascal called man “the supreme paradox”. He said man is the creature of the highest grandeur, and at the same time of the most misery. Man’s grandeur is found in his ability to contemplate and reflect. Yet this is also the basis of his misery. Man always has the capacity to envision a better existence than he presently enjoys or is able to bring about. We are always living with our frustrated hopes. I can conceive of a life without pain, suffering, or death, but I can’t make it happen.” Β – R.C. Sproul (The Race of Faith)
Blaise Pascal also once said “humanity is the glory and the shame of the universe“. He sounds like a smart man. I used the quote in one of my poems, readΒ here.
One can only discover or ponder on the meaning/purpose of life or the lack thereof if one is able to contemplate and reflect. Meaninglessness can only be found in the search for meaning.
________________________________________________________________________
I’m considering doing a book giveaway sometime later this year. From my Books I Read in 2015/2016 posts, what book(s) would interest you? What books are you currently reading?
Have a wonderful week!
11 comments

  1. Ehmie O. · April 23

    I loved the poem. It really is beautiful! Plus, I went through the books you’ve read and I might be interested πŸ™„

  2. KerryTosan · April 23

    I can conceive of a life without pain, suffering, or death, but I can’t make it happen.” – R.C. Sproul (The Race of Faith)
    Very interesting quote.

  3. KerryTosan · April 23

    I’m interested in 10, 7, 8, 1 & 14 – In that order. If I get it, I’ll read.

  4. Tony Michele · April 23

    Yup, it really is. πŸ˜ƒ, that’s good. Issa friend πŸ˜†πŸ™πŸΎ.

    Side note – I forgot to leave this IG comment; It’s only right that you do a story about your ‘homebody’ post while in bed huh πŸ˜πŸ˜„.

  5. Tony Michele · April 23

    Which year are you referring to? 2015 or 2016.

  6. KerryTosan · April 23

    2016. Didn’t realise that they are different.

  7. Tony Michele · April 24

    Hi Kerry, that’s good to know. Thank you for stopping by πŸ™‚.

  8. Tony Michele · April 24

    Mmhmmm. Very interesting. Any thoughts?

  9. Ehmie O. · April 24

    πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I suppose it is

  10. zaram · April 26

    Everything in Nigeria will kill you. That’s the book I’ll love to have. Currently, I’m reading deception point by Dan Brown

  11. Tony Michele · April 27

    Hmmm, that’s the good to know. Thank you for stopping by and commenting πŸ™πŸΎ.

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

