Books I Read In 2016

img_1221

Keeping in line with the first one I wrote for 2015 here. Here’s a list of books I read last year. It’s coming a bit late but like they say; better late than never. This time, I however plan to follow up with the reviews, summaries and musings on most of the books I have listed.

1. Everything In Nigeria will kill you by Ayo Sogunro

This was a leftover from the previous year. I really enjoyed reading this. Interesting commentary on some of the issues we experience in this country. I can’t particularly remember the context, but one of the most striking things he wrote about was corruption of need versus greed. It’s an interesting concept. I’m on the lookout for his other books. I wonder how his fictional work(s) are.
2. A.D 30 by Ted Dekker
3. A.D 33 – Ted Dekker
Ted Dekker is a fine writer. The colour titled book series is still my favourite from him. Not that I’ve read many more. I loved the two books cos they made me think about what it would have been like to live during Jesus’ time on earth and in the vicinity of his presence. People write about how if they could meet a famous person, it would be Him, but thinking on this was intriguing. How do you think it would have been?
4. Who Put Jesus on the cross? by AW Tozer
5. A Grief Observed by CS Lewis
I have a musings post on the CS books I read in the last two years coming soon.
6. Jesus amongst other gods by Ravi Zacharias
An apologetic book. It’s been an interesting journey for me. I may or may not write a post on this one. Side note: I totally love the Ravi’s samples or recordings used on Da Truth’s Its Complicated album.
7. Passion and Purity by Elizabeth Elliot
I plan to write a post on this book. Interesting journey to getting and reading this book. I love that S.O dedicated those two songs on that album to her (ministry). It’s beautiful. I want to give out the roses when you can still smell them <3.
8. Mr Fox by Helen Oyeyemi
This review here mirrors a lot of my thoughts on the book. I might have got the book from the website’s download section too. I’m not sure about that.
9. A Heart to Mend by Myne Whitman
Ugh. Cliche fiction. Nollywood script and all.
10. Love Does by Bob Goff
🙂
11. Secret thoughts of an Unlikely Convert by Rosario Butterfield
The miracle of conversion should never be idolised or overlooked however profound or seemingly simple it may seem.
Before reading this book, I did not know that there are congregations that only sing psalms – as written in the bible in worship/praise.
12. Am I being fooled? by  Emmanuel Iren
After reading this book, I had one question which I immediately asked the next person I saw –What is the gospel?  Interesting and unsurprising answer.
13. Man, the dwelling place of God by AW Tozer
I am grateful for this man’s writing ministry.
14. Seeking Allah, finding Jesus by Nabeel Qureshi
I have a post on this book coming soon.
Before I go, here’s a quote on the solitude of pain 🙂
“There is room in the halls of pleasure
For a large and lordly train.
But one by one we must all file on
Through the narrow aisles of pain.”
_______________________________________________________
As suggested in the comment section of the previous list, I plan to do a giveaway sometime during the year. Books of course haha. Planning is still underway.
What books did you read in 2016? Lessons? Any recommendations? Any one(s) I can get a copy of? Any reading goals or challenges?
20 comments

  1. Oyinlolaao · February 13

    You should definitely read Produced by Faith. It’s by Devon Franklin, and it’s absolutely beautiful. Thanks for sharing babe

  2. Tamie · February 13

    Out of control and loving it by Lisa Bevere. That was one book I read that struck plenty chords for me and stood out. And funny it was my last read of the year.

    Your last list inspired me to up my reading last year. I didn’t read as much as I wanted though.
    Plan to do berra this year.

    I love Ted dekker. Read a lot of his books. Blessed Child and the heaven series are my fav. Haven’t heard of the ones you listed, Are they fiction and are they soft copies?

  3. Tony Michele · February 13

    I’d check it out.

    😅, is it the name? I’m a guy.

    Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂🙏🏾. Love the Ankara pieces (bags) in your last post btw.

  4. Tony Michele · February 13

    Ah, yes. I remember you saying so on that post. I hope you accomplish that goal this year.

    Yes, they are fictional. And yes. I’d try to get them across to you.

    Thank you for reading and commenting Tamie 🙂

  5. Tamie · February 13

    Thank you, TM

  6. Oréoluwa · February 15

    Long time no blog spot!
    I haven’t read any of the books listed here, but everything In Nigeria will kill you by Ayo Sogunro sounds like an interesting read. Thank you for sharing x

    Oréoluwa’s blog

  7. Tony Michele · February 16

    Haha. You noticed 😃. Yeah. I took January off but I’m back now – this is actually my second post this month.

    Indeed. It’s an interesting read. You should check it out.

  8. DrSwag · March 22

    WHAT A BEAUTIFUL LIST!!!!!!!! Your mind must be a diamond mine….

  9. DrSwag · March 22

    I will get back with some of the books I read in 2016 later….

  10. Tony Michele · March 24

    😄, you flatter me. Thank you for reading and commenting.

  11. Tony Michele · March 24

    I’m looking forward to reading it.

  12. Fola Oseni · April 9

    Ted Dekker is a really brilliant writer, I think you should read burn. Every time that books comes to my head I’m awed. I’ve not read a better book.

  13. Tony Michele · April 9

    Yes, he is. I’d check it out. Thank you for reading and commenting ❤

  14. demilhadey · May 22

    hi. Timi. Please where did you get the book by Pst Emmanuel Iren?

  15. Tony Michele · May 22

    Hi Demilade, I got the book in church. For free. Are you interested in getting a copy?

  16. demilhadey · May 22

    Yes. I attend CCI too. But I just stumbled on this particular message.

  17. Tony Michele · May 22

    Oh really? That’s cool. Message? If you want the book, you can have it.

  18. demilhadey · May 23

    The message is the same title as the book. I’ll ask on Thursday then.. Thanks. Or do you have a pdf copy?

  19. Tony Michele · May 23

    Oh, that. Check the soundcloud here – https://m.soundcloud.com/celebration-church-451129993

    They uploaded one sometime last year I think.

    I don’t have the PDF copy.

  20. demilhadey · May 23

    Thanks.

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

