Days of Our Lives (IV)

RETROSPECT.

I assumed the persona of another woman,
became different women for you,
wore the cloak of inconsistence,
breathed the air of conspicuous lies,
embraced the faux smile of the other situation
and lost minuscule saplings of truth in me.

Stayed up most nights wondering where I was headed
Trying to be someone else even with titbits of adamancy.

Ignoring the voices in my head with askance
due to ignorance blindfolding my ability to prance
out of the realm of idiocy and abundant foolery.

Falling for you was losing my creativity
rendering the right hemisphere a path
to its biggest failure.

Desiccation welcomed a huge audience of sadness
hindering the functionality of my ventricles.

It then became a tête-à-tête between
my decrepit and neoteric self that
loving you was losing myself and it was
absolute inanity at its peak.

@Sefiiya_

_______________________________________________________

Nina is a wonderful poet who blogs here.

Throughout the month, I’d be posting contributions to a poem series titled – ‘These Are The Days of Our Lives‘.

You can read the unofficial prelude here, first entry here, second here and the third here.

Other guest writers are very welcome 🙂

4 comments

  1. Omotola · November 27

    Lovely piece!👌

  2. Tony Michele · November 27

    Thank you! 🙏🏾

  3. Ameena k.g · December 2

    I love how the poem wrapped up with the realization that changing repeatedly for someone else was insanity.

  4. Tony Michele · December 3

    Ah, indeed. There’s a limit to how far someone can go in that direction without reciprocation.
    Thank you for reading and commenting! 🙏🏾
    Love the blog btw.

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

