Musings :: Currently Reading (I)

IMG_0102

I used to like writing reviews and criticisms of stuff (like music or books) that I liked or didn’t like but now sometimes I’ve learnt to just breath with it and maybe just live with it.

When I wrote this list of books I read last year here, I planned on writing reviews of some of the books that I really liked. I still might. As I have updated the list of books I have read this year, it has constantly seemed like a relatively short list but I was not taken by it. That thing about quality and quantity is mostly true.

The past few days in this new month have been very fruitful with regards to my book reading goals. I finished reading two books I wanted to get through – The Secret Thoughts of an Unlikely Convert and Love Does. The block quote that is at the beginning of this post is a spin-off of the sub-heading of each chapter in the latter.

I love reading biographies. There’s just something about them that I’m not quite sure I have the words for yet. I am currently reading a biography of Dietrich Bonhoeffer. It has been interesting to say the least. I have been reading this book in a shuffle with a lot of other books – some of which I have since finished like the aforementioned ones.

 

On my opening quote – I read a line from an article which I sadly cannot remember. The author made a general statement about all writing (I hope I’m remembering correctly) being some sort of commentary. I think that line of thought encapsulated what led to my transition from using the word “review” in some of my earlier music reviews to “my thoughts on [insert name of album]”.

Dietrich Bonhoeffer was a pastor in Germany during the rise of Hitler who opposed a lot of the inhuman policies and deeds that Hitler perpetuated. I have very limited knowledge about the things that led to his rise, his reign and fall but reading from the perspective of the struggle within the church has been very eye opening. I like that he stood for something (and gave his life for it) especially when some seemed to waver when it mattered. Reading some of his sermons, he definitely had amazing foresight of the things to come when Hitler first came to power. As I was reading it today, I came across these infamous words.

 

fullsizerender-1

 

 

I have had so many lessons and insights from the biography. Maybe I’d write a more detailed commentary when I’m done. My piece last week here was partly inspired by the title of the Love Does book.

If you’ve been following my blog long enough you would have noticed my series of untitled poems (check them out here). Titles are always welcome 🙂

Lest I forget, here’s another quote on pain 🙂

img_0896

 

What books are you currently reading?

11 comments

  1. Omotola · October 9

    I’m currently reading 6 books, haha. No, I’m shuffling 4 : Prayer – letters to Malcolm & Abolition of man, both by CS Lewis, Finishing strong by Steve Farrar and spirit of leadership by Munroe.

    I’m already anticipating your detailed review on the biography. 🙂

  2. Tony Michele · October 9

    Haha, the struggle of the shuffle. Haha, I know I used a ‘maybe’ 😋. Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  3. Nedoux · October 10

    Hi Timi,

    How’ve you been?

    Hmmm… I should read more biographies, one can learn life lessons from real experiences.

    Lol… That quote by Virginia Woolf had me in stitches, I do the multi-book reading thing too. I just finished both Scottt Turow’s “Pleading Guilty” and a collection of stories written by past Farafina Writers Workshop participants. I’m about to start reading El-Nathan’s “Born on a Tuesday” and Igoni Barett’s “Black Ass”.

    Alas, the pain from grieving for a dead loved one doesn’t always end. 🙂

  4. Oréoluwa · October 10

    Sigh… this post just guilt-tripped me.
    Got a book a month ago and I have started, now I see the need to start.
    Thank you!

    https://lifestyleoforeoluwa.wordpress.com/

  5. Tony Michele · October 10

    Hello Nedu, I’ve been good. How’ve you been? It’s been a minute.

    Hehe 😊. Ah, there’s a collection? I just read one of them and it was really good.

    I’ve had El-Nathan’s book on my to get list for a while now, I should get it soon. Do let me know how it goes 🙂

    Indeed.

  6. Tony Michele · October 10

    You’re welcome 🙂. Thank you for reading and commenting!

  7. livelytwist · October 10

    A wonderful acronym for HOPE.

    Like Virginia Woolf, I’m in the middle of reading several books! I should just finish one already!

  8. Tamie · October 11

    Last week I finished a book and it left me wishing I could write a review on it. I’ve never reviewed a book, movie or anything. Don’t think I would know how.

    I’m currently reading a Vienna Prelude. Its a historical fiction, around the time of Hitler. Like you I have limited knowledge about him or those times. But the picture from the book is both enlightening and scary.

    Used to like biographies. The last I read was Jim Baker’s

  9. Tony Michele · October 11

    Yeah. 😄, I can totally relate. Thank you for reading and commenting Timi 🙂.

  10. Tony Michele · October 11

    Ah, I’ve been there. Maybe think of it as a commentary, write the first true sentence about the book and go from there?

    😃, historical fiction is another interesting genre. It incites to go and learn about the real events. Sadly, it’s mostly tv procedural like Manhattan that come to mind atm. Indeed, enlightening is something it always does – usually lighting up the path(s) that led to an event.

    Used to?

  11. Tamie · October 11

    Putting it the way you do, I just might write a review.
    I really enjoy engaging historical fictions.
    Used to. Cos I haven’t read any after that. Its been years. Maybe 10 or more.

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

