Musings #8

Source: Google Images

The Science of Affection – Read here

I love Brain Pickings. It is one of my favourite blogs and I don’t get to read it as much as I would like to.

I am interested in psychology. I have intended to write on a musings post on my interest and several other intersecting things but I have successfully put off writing it thus far.

The article is quite long but I enjoyed reading it. It was enlightening and fascinating. The writer sums up my thoughts that now we may think that “of course, love is a great thing and a requirement for a rounded childhood development but we are ignorant to the fact that it took rebellious research and experiments to prove it.

After someone read the article, she had this to say;  I agree. “Someone who hasn’t experienced love can’t give it.”

Even as I read through the article again before I typed out my musings, I couldn’t help but pick up new things. That description of love as self-denial or rather putting another first strikes a cord. Hmmm.

To love without knowing how to love hurts the one we love. – Thich Nhat Hanh

What she said reminded me of this – the quote above.

 

Let The Bible Tell You How To Be A Woman – Read here

I think a lot of what the writer wrote about is important to both sexes. What really caught my eye was the writer warning us that in our quest to explain the word and how it is inspired, not go down the steep slope of seeking to separate or inferring that it is a book of opinions. I’d leave you with two quotes on reading the bible and adhering strictly to what the truth.

Many of us go to the scriptures to sustain a doctrine not to obtain one. – Emmanuel Iren 

It should be the other way around.

None of us reads the Bible in a vacuum, and hence we must return to the Scriptures repeatedly to ensure we’ve read them faithfully. – Thomas Schreiner

Our ‘Thing’ – Read here

A short story I really like.

A Little Gem In Job – Read here

Ayy! I’m tempted to swear that I really knew this but I’m not sure, lol. Definitely never took it that deep.

Thought Art – Read here

A poem I really like. I’m inspired by. I should write poems more often.

Wounded – Read here

Another poem I like.This is inspiration for a poem I am hoping to write soon.

Did You? – Read here

That’s the poem I shared last week. Apparently, the comment section wasn’t there. It was pointed out later and I’ve corrected it (Thank You ‘Nedu). I don’t know if you want(ed) to leave a comment or whatever. Check it out.

__________________________________________________

Have a wonderful week!

Quote Challenge completed! 

2 comments

  1. Nedoux · August 22

    Hi Timi,

    How’ve you been?

    I love posts that curate delightful articles that I wouldn’t usually find on my own, I opened each one in a new tab with such glee. I am off to enjoy. 😀

    Thank you so much for sharing.

  2. Tony Michele · August 22

    Hello Nedu, I’ve been good. The ever short weekend was good. Required rest and a Lagos party. How’ve you been?

    Thank you for reading and commenting. I hope you enjoyed them and gleaned one or two things.

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

