Musings :: All I Need Is A Pen (I)

IMG_0843

I came across the challenge here and I thought I’d take it up.

“All I need is a pen and a little reflection.”

That’s an adjusted quote from Ab-Soul

I used to believe this concerning my writing, I still do

I’m just lazy

I have so many projects and posts to catch up on

When I decided to take up this challenge, I wondered why the rules assumed that the undertaker would be typing and not writing

I still write some of my poems in ink

I still write some of my posts in ink

Sometimes, when they are personal I think would the person they are addressed to prefer it in my writing

Those are just my thoughts

I still keep some of those sheets around

Just incase

Hope is a bitter-sweet thing

I decided to use the line by line approach because I think better that way

The rules said no deleting or correcting

But as I am typing in MS Word, it is autocorrecting

That’s not on me

At least 500 words in 10 minutes

But I wondered; is it the number of words that counts or the content of the words

Ha! If I could correct something, I would have adjusted the latter part of that line but I think it still works

Quality or quantity

The old comparison

How long is 10 minutes?

It can seem short at one time and long in another

“The trouble is you think you have time.” – Buddha

That’s another quote that I like

I got nominated for a blog quote challenge and I made up my mind to inciorporate at least the 3 quotes required in the next 3 posts on my blog

I am disregarding the daily rule (I think there was one)

Thank you Geelayo for the nomination

I love quotes

Especially when they are flexible (haha)

That’s a bad thing too – I think

I wrote a list of things I thought I was going to address as I typed

But I was too lazy to type that day and I disregarded the list

The book of Psalms is one of my favourite books in the bible

I had the opportunity to tweet this quote from a Desiring God post that I love so much

*insert quote (or embedded tweet cos I can’t remember the quote exactly)*

Psalms 74 (I think) is one…

__________________________________________________

Time – 10 minutes, Words – 383

Some afterthoughts:

I enjoyed undertaking the challenge. If you read through, join in? The more, the merrier.

I might add in that comma or semi-colon on that line and correctly spell that word after say one or two weeks. Maybe not, who knows? 🙂

It later occurred to me to include the tweet that I responded to. Here goes:

I should continue my rant on that Psalm that I recently read through and love. Which coincidentally, I think the tweet above captures succinctly (not just the despair though, but the hope – light at the end of the tunnel) but I won’t write about that here 🙂

It is actually Psalm 73, not 74.

____________________________________________________

Have a wonderful week!

12 comments

  1. Tamie · July 25, 2016

    Love your approach( and content ) to the challenge.

    This is still on my to-do.

  2. Dainty M · July 25, 2016

    Wow! This was really good. Glad you took the challenge. I could feel your calmness while writing (some of us were trying to beat the clock so bad and lost calm- Lol) You touched different subjects and it made the post so rich. Minimal errors-impressive! I love the psalms as well and I enjoyed this post! Well done Tony! 😀
    PS: eliminate the thoughts of editing this in the future *i’m watching you in 3D* B) 😉

  3. Tony Michele · July 25, 2016

    Thank you!

    Looking forward to reading it.

  4. Tony Michele · July 25, 2016

    Thank you, thank you, thank you 😊.

    Haha, I kinda was. Hehe, we’ll see 😈.

  5. Me · July 25, 2016

    So i super love this Timi! You sef, yaa just too much. I love that Buddha quote too. Welldone Timi. 😀 ❤

  6. Tony Michele · July 25, 2016

    Hehe ☺️. Aha! ✊🏾

    Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  7. 002 · July 28, 2016

    I cannot even imagine doing this. There would be too many errors. Lol. You did a great job T! I wonder about quantity and quality too, all the time. But I’m an obsessive thinker, you’re probably right about both being important. Like you are about most things you had doubts about or at least that’s what I think. Lol. All goes to say, you’re pretty *interesting* 😉

  8. Tony Michele · July 28, 2016

    Haha, you should try it. Maybe don’t publish it if it’s very bad?

    Thank you! 😊

    Haha, I see what you did there 🙏🏾

    Hehe, thank you 🙂

  9. Nedoux · August 5, 2016

    @ “All I need is a pen and a little reflection.”

    I attended a Book reading last Sunday and I’m reminded of a question someone asked the author about what inspired their writing process..

    For me it’s a pen and an experience. I find humour in the experience and the words come forth.

    I wonder how I’d fare at this 10 minutes challenge though, seems fun. You did great, I like how your thoughts progressed. 😀

  10. Tony Michele · August 6, 2016

    Hmmm, experience the ever constant inspirer.

    It is, you should try it. Thank you 😊.

  11. livelytwist · August 8, 2016

    Lol @ But as I am typing in MS Word, it is autocorrecting 🙂
    Autocorrect missed a word… Well done!

  12. Tony Michele · August 8, 2016

    Yup and another and another… 😁

    Thank you Timi!

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

