Musings #8

Image-1 (2)

The above quote is from this article here. Which I enjoyed reading. I do have my reservations about quotes like this, but the time period during which the author lived had me alternating between this two immediate reactions in my head ‘Really? That long ago‘ and ‘Of course! Humans; the more things change the more they stay the same‘.  Check out the blog (not just the post) if/when you can. Wonderful stuff.

On rebellion

The other day, I came across a tweet (detailing advice someone received) about being a rebel just because it makes you stand out; obedience is “lame”. Interesting. It reminded me of a quote from a book I read some years back.

“There is a vast gulf between rebellion and taking a stand for what is right.”

The Myth of Change and The Reality of The System – Read here

Another interesting article from Ayo Sogunro. In it, he talks about the inorganic concepts of states and maybe even the country (my thoughts) that may have given rise to some of the challenges we are facing as a country. This particular part of the article is reminiscent of a wonderful book I stumbled on (started reading, but didn’t finish and hope to read again soon) titled – The Challenge for Africa by Wangari Maathai. In the book, she addressed this issue of ‘micro nations’ (if you will, I cannot remember the exact term she used) within one nation. It was interesting to know that this issue was/is not peculiar to just our country. The broader issue which Mr Ayo addresses is certainly one to consider seriously. We have gone round the mountain long enough. Haha.

Here’s another ‘quote’ on pain.

Image-1 (1)

 

2 comments

  1. Nedoux · June 12, 2016

    Hi Tony,

    Thank you for the mention! Very kind of you. 🙂

    I agree with you. Over time, humans might evolve into more sophisticated versions of themselves, but human nature remains constant.

    Ayo’s piece seems profound, off to read it properly. On ‘Pain and Loss’. Indeed, one breaks, one mends, one learns, another version of one’s self emerges…

    Have a super week.

  2. Tony Michele · June 13, 2016

    Hi, my pleasure 🙏🏾.

    I hope you enjoyed reading it.

    Indeed. Have a blessed week. ✊🏾

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

