Never Again

Damore and I finally got to do an ‘official’ collaboration and here’s the result. Here’s to many more. Hopefully. Any other takers are welcome as well πŸ™‚

Damore

The sky

Burst with aΒ haze of white full giant clouds

Splattered and smeared around;

teasing the sun with their bashful strides

The sun

It took no notice

But they turned and swirled

Undaunted.

Inspired.

How they touched my heart,

Oh, how they reminded me

of a time

When all I lived for

Was to be kissed by your eyes.

But not anymore.

Tony

Kisses to live for

Kisses to die by

That’s what they were,

But not anymore

Swaying and twirling;

Seeking your attention

Oh, by how much did I miss it?

I imagine I am earth and you the sun

Twists and turns later,

Still perpetually in the line of sight

Yet, I missed it.

Thinking I was participating in the dance of could-be lovers,

When really I was the only one ready to tango

Longing to be kissed by your eyes

When I should have savoured being kissed by your light

I missed it

But never again.

18 comments

  1. KerryTosan · May 1, 2016

    Never Again.

    Nice one.

  2. imade. · May 1, 2016

    This is beautiful ❀️

  3. KerryTosan · May 1, 2016

    This reminds me of Lionel Richie’s song, You Are.

  4. Tony Michele · May 2, 2016

    😊
    Merci beaucoup πŸ™πŸΎ
    Thank you for reading.

  5. Tony Michele · May 2, 2016

    Thank you Kerry. Wanna try at one sometime?

  6. Tony Michele · May 2, 2016

    Oh, never heard it. I’d give it a listen.

  7. KerryTosan · May 2, 2016

    I’d like to. Yeah.

  8. Nedoux · May 6, 2016

    Hi Tony,

    This flows beautifully, I like how well-written poetry feels like one is being caressed with a soft feather, the smile that appears on one’s face can’t be helped. πŸ™‚

  9. Tony Michele · May 6, 2016

    Hi Nedoux :),

    Your comment just put a smile on my face 😁. Yes, it elicits that sort of response doesn’t it?

    Thank you for reading and commenting. πŸ™πŸΎ

  10. zikaolofin · May 9, 2016

    I love this one

  11. Tony Michele · May 9, 2016

    Thank you! πŸ™‚

  12. D'Dream · June 20, 2016

    http://i0.poll.fm/js/rating/rating.jsSome people are gifted with words sha! Chai!

  13. Tony Michele · June 20, 2016

    All glory to the One above πŸ™ŒπŸΎπŸ™ŒπŸΎ.

    Thank you for reading and commenting. πŸ™‚πŸ™πŸΎ

  14. Nedoux · June 20, 2016

    Hey Immanuel,

    But you know that you are also a card-carrying member of the ‘gifted-with-words’ party. πŸ™‚

  15. D'Dream · June 20, 2016

    Lol…… But you are a member of the exclusively exclusive excos. Hahaha

  16. Nedoux · June 20, 2016

    I haven’t paid the party dues this year, it’s way too expensive. I blame the hike in the Dollar-Naira rate. Lol

  17. D'Dream · June 20, 2016

    Lol. Ha! Thinking of that one alone is enough to cruise someone’s bp to an irreversible all time high. Its simply crazy

  18. Nedoux · June 20, 2016

    XD

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

