On Prejudice

Source: Google Images (Here)

One of the books I read last year was ‘Pride and Prejudice’, a touted classic (the list is here). My favourite part of the book was a discussion between Elizabeth and one of the sisters of Mr Bingley and later Mr Darcy about discerning one’s motive from their actions.

Prejudice (n.) – a preformed opinion, usually an unfavourable one, based on insufficient knowledge, irrational feelings, or inaccurate stereotypes.

Consider this story.

It is the day of my final exam as an undergraduate student. I finally get to leave this school after all these years. I am not excited. After submitting my answer sheet, I quickly get back to the hall and get the printed and already binded copies of my final year project report in order to submit them to the appointed Project Defence supervisor before the day of defence.

The supervisor also happens to be teaching one of the courses in my final semester. I get to his office and inform him what I am there to submit. He is pleasantly surprised; I am the first person in the whole department to submit them. As he briefly scans the copies, he notices my name and/or my matric number and exclaims – “I have been looking for you!”

I am surprised. I have no idea why he would be looking for me. And if he really wanted to, I would not be hard to find.

He goes on to explain how he was collating the results of a test in the course he was teaching and I scored one of the highest marks, but since he didn’t recognize the name and/or matric number, he thought it was a fluke by some dubious means. He then goes on to say that had I not come to submit the report this early (in relation to others), he would have reduced my mark from say ‘1x/20’ to ‘x/20’. I am not sure if he is joking or being serious, but since himself and the other two students in the room seem to think the statement was funny, I (try to) smile too. He then goes on to make other remarks like “I didn’t know you were a serious student” and something about not recognizing my face.

Having had to retell that story recently, I couldn’t help but think and wonder what his thought process and motives were. I remembered some teachers that considered ‘back-benchers’ in school unserious. I wonder if that is what it was, or its reverse.

19 comments

  1. hrh7 · February 28, 2016

    Pride and prejudice is one of my favourite books. I love the ending especially.
    Truth is, it is quite difficult to live without having any form of prejudice towards another person.
    http://insearchofperfecthair.WordPress.com

  2. Oluchee · February 29, 2016

    This just reminded me of my undergraduate years. Like 90% of the time after I make some new friends and they get to know I was an engineering student, they get genuinely surprised and when I ask why, they say I dress too well and talk real nicely to be an engineering student. Some go further to test me by asking questions an engineering student would know. Smh

  3. Tony Michele · February 29, 2016

    😄, this is interesting. Doubt that would have survived in the school I attended. What sort did you study?

  4. Tony Michele · February 29, 2016

    It was an interesting read when one considered the time context.

    Hmmm, I thought it was almost cliche.

    You’re probably right.

  5. Oluchee · February 29, 2016

    Chemical Engineering. Finished early last year.. so I’m a little still fresh headed. Lol

  6. Yemie · February 29, 2016

    Truth be told, a majority of us humans are prejuduced towards one another! Sometimes, we just cannot help it and we find ourselves making snap judgment calls before we get the chance of getting up close and personal! And that’s right before we put our foot in our mouths when we realize we just DID goof…big time and all’s not at all as it seems! Yikes! 😈😆

    ‘I don’t like that man, I must get to know him’- Abraham Lincoln! Unfortunately, only a handful of folks would reason like the Legend that’s Abraham Lincoln! 🙉*tsking

    I remember in High School, in much the same way as ‘Backbenchers’ are perceived and considered as the ‘no-do-gooders’; the general preconceived belief and notion was that kids who rocked shades…eyeglasses; were the ‘Smarts’! The ‘Bookworms’ with the ultimate perfect scores! Plus, at the time; lotsa kids bought into that fad and in trying to fit in, they also followed suit; brandishing and adorning eyeglasses that one couldn’t help but wonder, or shall I say try to figure out who’s having real eye issues and who’s ‘famzing’! 😆
    Back then, we had recommended and ‘shakomended’ shades making the rounds with cute ropes of various colors, hanging loose from neck down when the glasses are ‘out of use’ and pretty dope cases, which served to hold and ‘house’ the shades! Crazy I tell ya!😂😂😂

    In all, Marilyn Munroe surmises that ‘When it comes down to it, I let ’em think what they want. If they care enough to bother with what I do, then am already better than them! 😁

    Pride and Prejudice is a timeless classic….for always! Thanks for sharing TM and excel ye some more; nothing do you! 😊😄

  7. Tony Michele · February 29, 2016

    Yes, that’s probably right. Some of them imprinted on us.

    Haha. Interesting quote from Lincoln. What if I don’t like him because I got to know him? 😁😷

    Yes! That was… and is still a thing.

    Thank you for reading and commenting. 😊✌🏾️

  8. Yemie · February 29, 2016

    If you didn’t like him because you got to know him, at least; you did make an effort to get to know him rather than ‘deciding’ straight out the gate who you think he might be, no?😯 That, right there’s your ‘justification’….Hater! 😆😂

  9. Tony Michele · February 29, 2016

    😂😂. Taking a chance can be overrated at times 😌.

  10. Yemie · February 29, 2016

    Says the one who made a post having been at the receiving end himself! Really TM?😩 No kidding??? 🙉😏

  11. Tony Michele · February 29, 2016

    😂😂. Oh gosh 🙈

  12. Yemie · February 29, 2016

    Oh gosh yeah???? 😦Hmm…just as I thought, your goose 🐤, is cooked! 😁 I’ll just improvise with that chick! 😈😆

    Oh Well TM, ‘ Check and Mate’…just! 😂😂😂

  13. Tony Michele · February 29, 2016

    🙏🏾

  14. reocochran · March 11, 2016

    The part about prejudice is the book shows our “pre- judgements” can be transformed if given a chance. 🙂

  15. Tony Michele · March 12, 2016

    Indeed. Thank you for reading & commenting. ✊🏾

  16. Tamie · March 18, 2016

    There seem to be speckles of prejudice in and around us most times.

    I just don’t know why I’ve never read that book despite coming across it severally.

  17. Tony Michele · March 18, 2016

    Yes, it does seem that way. I hear it’s a good read 😆. Or just watch the movie.

  18. Nedoux · March 18, 2016

    “Don’t judge a book by its cover” comes to mind…

  19. Tony Michele · March 18, 2016

    True.

    Thanks for reading and commenting.

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

