Finish Line

I wrote this post as comment on this post here and then added a verse (or two).

There’s a finish line
I hope I finish fine
A race set before me
Of which I know naught
I didn’t get to count the cost
Before I heard the shot
Now I run
That’s all I can, do.

What is this race I run for
What is the prize I run for
These are the thoughts that ping in my mind
Nevertheless, I seem to press on
Auto pilot
Or the bull by the horns
Am I the master of my fate
In this race where no one finishes last.

Again, I saw under the sun
What the teacher had observed is indeed right
A race where no one finishes last
But no one knows where the finish line is
Press on, go on, but by all means
Check, what is the path you run on

Is it a sprint or a marathon? I know not – perhaps a sprint-athon
One in which the longer the time spent in the race,
The faster the clock seems to run
As spectators watch from the sidelines
Let us therefore run
As knowing that the finish line is so close yet so far.
I hope you finish fine too.

 

Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, – Hebrews 12:1 (ESV)

6 comments

  1. Omooba' Adetunji · February 1, 2016

    Wow. This hit me right in the chest.

  2. Dainty M · February 1, 2016

    Beautiful piece! I love how the words were interwoven to produce such melody. This was the text for my devotional today! ‘A race where no one finishes last’ that line stuck! Thanks for sharing. God bless you!

  3. Tony Michele · February 1, 2016

    Hehe πŸ™‚

    Aha! I hope you finish fine too. Thank you! ✌🏾️

  4. Tony Michele · February 1, 2016

    😊
    Thank you for reading and commenting. ✌🏾️

  5. Yemie · February 2, 2016

    Some say life’s a journey, others, a market place; while to some others; its a race…a rat race for survival.
    ‘The highest reward for a man’s toil is not what he gets for it but what he becomes by it’- John Ruskin.

    That said, I find these lines a beautiful portrayal of the rat race that’s life and it could also double as that all-important race in Christendom, in which a finish line’s been made absolutely clear by our Maker! πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜„
    Even after having done all as is humanly possible to do, and to the best of our knowledge and abilities; we oughta keep in mind that ‘its not of him that willeth or runneth, but of He that showeth mercy’! Afterall, the race is not exactly to the swift nor the battle to the strong…but time and chance happeneth to them all Ecc9:11!
    Plus, time and chance is basically towing the right path and being at the right place at the right time; which is only possible with the Good Lord leading and ordering our steps!

    This smarts TM! The race analogy as it applies to life’s so cleverly laid out! Thumbs up Sir! πŸ‘πŸ˜

  6. Tony Michele · February 2, 2016

    Wow πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜Š. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    Yes! Ah! The Ecclesiasties verse; one of my all time favourites.

    Thank you for reading and commenting! πŸ™ŒπŸΎπŸ‘ŠπŸΎβœŠπŸΎ

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

