Musings #3

I started a series of post some years back putting some quotes together. The idea has progressed somewhat to adding musings to those quotes and doing same for some interesting posts and articles I come across. Read the initial entries here – #1 and #2.

I came across the tweet and image recently and I was reminded of a book I picked up from my Dad’s bookshelf titled; “Terrorism – The New World War” and in the book they used the same example. If I remember correctly, in the same book I also came across the “One man’s freedom fighter is another man’s terrorist” quote. Thinking on this I thought of the abyss that might be moral relativism.

“The nature of life is not permanence, but flux.”

This quote reminds me of CS Lewis’ writing. I cannot remember the book, but he wrote about we as humans don’t really like change (a lot of it anyway, especially seismic ones). In regards to life, he wrote that God knowing this and knowing us (having created us) created the seasons; Winter, Autumn, Spring, Fall (for those that experience all of them). Yet in the yearly repetition, the change is not very obvious (to some).

Why Is The CHARISMATIC MOVEMENT Thriving in Africa? – Read here

Interesting and enlightening piece. It proffers an answer to a question to something I read earlier last year. I was reading “The Reason for God; Belief in an Age of Scepticism” by Timothy Keller (see list of books I read here) and he referenced an article by another scholar in which it was posited that the reason Africans somewhat accepted (the concept of) Christianity was because it did not challenge their view of the world and God. In these parts, it is generally believed that atheism is a foreign concept. My question was what did this (world)view entail? Amongst other things, the article seeks to posit one world-view. Check out the author; Conrad Mbewe’s blog here.

The following quote is from the article;

“I think that one reason why the Charismatic movement in Africa has been like a wild bushfire is because it has not challenged the African religious world-view but has instead adopted it.”

I don’t quite remember my lessons in Yoruba class on the origins of the gods (Sango, Ogun, etc) or “God” (Olodumare) – if at all there were any, but I wonder which level they would be on.

‘Captive’ and the Christian Film Industry – Read here

This is another good article, although the author does not dwell on the theology propagated in the film(s). The following quote is from the article above;

“It’s too easy to conflate “I agree with this” with “this is good art.””

Of the many things that it could be applied to, music comes to mind.

“Just because you look awkward doing something doesn’t mean you can’t get the job done.”

I heard this while watching a soccer/football match. The commentator was commenting on Liverpool’s Sakho dribbling and then completing a pass. My initial thought was “side-eye to all you “I can’t imagine you doing…” people”, but then that other voice said “it depends…” (lol) which is in fact true. Side note – Am I the only one who thinks what some football commentators do is poetry in motion/art?

 

5 comments

  1. Yemie · January 17, 2016

    A very intellectual piece you reeled out here TM and you Sir, are passionately curious! A ‘Clear and Confirmed Reader’. D-Dang 😆! But..nice, real nice and pretty impressive too! 👏👏👏Respect! 👉😎

    I am big on quotes and I have an unending list…from the riduculous to the super-bizarre and then the raw deals…the Real McCoy; in mine opinion; which is all they really are…opinions! And well, an opinion is an opinion is a friggin’ opinion! 🙉😩That’s all there is to it…MINE OPINION! Again! 😈😆

    Thanks for sharing Buddy, so good to have you come on out! 😊😄 Peace! 😇😁

  2. Tony Michele · January 17, 2016

    ‘Intellectual’ 😃
    Thank you! ✊🏾

  3. Tony Michele · January 17, 2016

    Ah, yes. Opinions and the almost never ending disputes that come with them.

    That too is an opinion 😅👊🏾.

  4. Dainty M · January 18, 2016

    This was super enlightening. I felt like a student attentively learning at your feet 🙂 Great quotes! I particularly love the last one (because I do feel awkward doing stuffs a lot of the time) 😀 Thanks for sharing this knowledge!
    God bless ❤
    ~M.

  5. Tony Michele · January 18, 2016

    Glad to know it was enlightening.

    Thank you reading and commenting. ✊🏾

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

