Books I Read In 2015

IMG_1409.JPG
The year 2015 was a wonderful year for me. One in which I experienced growth in every area of my life. I’m grateful as always. I initially got the idea to write a post about the books I read during the course of the year here. Outside my academic studies which I was able to complete successfully during the year, I read about 18 books – a surprising number when I remember all the academic related work I had to do. Anyways, here goes the list and my musings on some of them.

1. The Pursuit of God by AW Tozer
2. The Reason for God: Belief in an Age of Scepticism by Timothy Keller
3. Counterfeit Gods by Timothy Keller
These two reads were fantastic and enlightening to say the least. I loved his writing style in the former especially with the quotes and references which even led to even more interesting stuff.
4. Autobiography of Malcolm X
5. I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
This was another interesting book to read especially in a time where racism was legal in America. It also briefly covered the contrast between how it was in the south and other parts of the country. I am looking forward to reading the remaining 6 books in her autobiography series.
6. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
I think this was the first fiction book I read. I hoped to reduce the amount of fiction I read and looking at my list, I succeeded, somewhat. I remembered why I bought and read this book when I read this post here. Basically, it was on Bill Gates’ reading list and I think I saw a girl reading it on a bus once.
7. The Screwtape Letters by CS Lewis
This was the first  Lewis book I read this year. I obviously went on to read more, but this was a fantastic read. I had to stop and ensure I didn’t read it too fast. I am definitely looking forward to rereading it.
8. Surprised By Joy by CS Lewis
In trying to describe this book to someone, I mentioned that in trying to describe his salvation experience, he never quite describes it. I think this excerpt from Solid Joys devotional for 16 September, 2015 accurately captures what I was trying to say on that; “…Words fail. We call it pleasure, joy, delight. But these are weak pointers to the unspeakable experience.”
9. The Four Loves by CS Lewis
10. Joy by Abigail Santamaria
A biography of CS Lewis’ wife. A wonderful quote from the book inspired another post on my blog here.
11. Preparing For Marriage by John Piper
This was a one-off. I had no plans of reading the book and I read most of it in one seating – it’s quite short. The list at the beginning of the book is a very good one with some context wise alterations. The poem by John Piper to his son on his wedding day is beautiful <3. A free e-copy of the book is available here. While reading this book, I came across this and shared it with someone and I thought I’d share it again.
IMG_1449
12. Mingling Of Souls by Matt Chandler
This book features a commentary on the Songs of Solomon. Interesting stuff. It got a mention here too.
13. Pale Echoes by Princewill Esekhile
This book led to another post on my blog here.
14. Merry Christmas, Alex Cross by James Patterson
I’m a big fan on James Patterson’s Alex Cross series. I stopped at the 12th or 13th book due to unavailability. This was a one-off so it was OK to read it without thinking about any running thread in the actual series.
15. You and Me – Marriage In Light Of Eternity by Francis & Lisa Chan
This book was on my to get and read list, then I discovered that I could read it for free via the free app(android/iOS). One of the many striking quotes inspired a post I wrote here.
16. The Heavenly Footman by John Bunyan
17. Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain
18. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

On my current reading shuffle, this books crossed over with me include Mere Christianity by CS Lewis, Revolutionary Suicide by Huey Newton, Love Gives Life by Evan May and Everything In Nigeria Will Kill You by Ayo Sogunro.

Having shared the list, I hope to within the course of the year share some of the lessons learned from them, some of the striking quotes/commentary encountered and my musings of course.

What books did you read in 2015?
Any striking ones that perhaps changed/furthered your perspective on any topic/subject?
Any plans (with regards to reading) for the new year?
Any recommendations?

 

17 comments

  1. Omotola · January 10, 2016

    I read about 10 books, i started off with Screwtape letters by C.S Lewis, with led me on to read Mere Christianity and a few others written by him. E.W Kenyon’s New creation realities reminded me that God’s word profits the doer not the hearer.
    I also read pride and prejudice 🙂

  2. Tony Michele · January 10, 2016

    Of course 🙂

    “People need to be reminded more often than they need to be instructed.”

    Thank you for reading and commenting! 🙏🏾✌🏾️

  3. Oluchee · January 11, 2016

    Not a lot of Christian books. Some pleasant novels struck me good. Jane Eyre and Around The World In 30days. Really good expressive books. Could help in cultivating good morals, awareness and open mindedness. Ahhh lovely books.

  4. Tony Michele · January 11, 2016

    Ah, Jane Eyre – another purported classic. I meant to read it until I watched the mini-series adaptation. I think that about covers it :).

    Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

  5. Summer @ Xingsings · January 12, 2016

    I wanted to read more nonfiction this year too but, alas, it was another fiction filled year. I read 36 books and DNFed one, which is a surprising amount with me going to school as well. Glad you read a lot with school and real life, Tony!

  6. Tony Michele · January 12, 2016

    Wow. Yes, that’s a lot.

    Thank you for reading and commenting!

    Your book library inspires me.

  7. victoryosaretin · January 13, 2016

    All I can say is I’m more than motivated to read more books. Here’s a good place to start. Thanks for making the links available

  8. Tony Michele · January 13, 2016

    You’re welcome :), glad to be of some help. Thank you!

  9. Pingback: Musings #3 | TIMI
  10. Diary of A BlueBlood · January 17, 2016

    Hi Timi. Happy New Year!
    This is a great post, especially as it’s something I want to do as well.
    But I’m curious though, how were you able to read them alongside your academic books?
    Thanks! 🙂

  11. Diary of A BlueBlood · January 17, 2016

    And also, I like your collection of books too

  12. Tony Michele · January 17, 2016

    Happy New Year to you too! Merci 🙂

    Will & Grace? (Ah!)

    I read most of them on a shuffle. A couple of pages/chapter at a time so doesn’t take much focus away from academics.

    Fiction is somewhat easier to read if I can take time out – completed the Rosie project same day I started.

  13. Tony Michele · January 17, 2016

    Merci.

  14. ehiscombs · January 18, 2016

    Hope you also within the year share aome of the books as gifts to your ‘fans’, lol…. I really need to go back to reading this year. This piece has inspired that resolution

  15. Tony Michele · January 18, 2016

    Haha. That’s an idea. I’d take that.

    Glad it did. I hope you stick with it. Thank you for reading and commenting bro! Happy New Year!

  16. Tamie · March 18, 2016

    *sitting silently thinking of how I can ‘tap’ some of the books on this list*
    I’m trying to read some books this year.. Maybe I would do a similar post on them all at the end of the year.
    Thanks for sharing this.

  17. Tony Michele · March 18, 2016

    😄, now that’s a good word. Any ideas?

    Would definitely love to read it if/when you do.

    Thank you for reading ✊🏾.

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

