Re: Why Do You/I Write

IMG_0012

A somewhat regular guest blogger (@ehiscombs) took up the #WhyDoIWrite challenge here. Here’s the product.

Growing up as a kid, I was the shy type, didn’t have many friends and I sought a means to put out the monsters and the conflicting voices buzzing in my head.

There was a lot happening around me and I couldn’t seem to put together the right spoken words to describe them or the listening ear to gossip to, so I found a mate in my pen.

I grew up with feelings, I was curious, I sought to know, I sought to understand, I sought to express, the only way I did was to write.

My words were louder when laid out, my voice seemed stronger on a piece of paper, and my confidence grew with every drop of the ink. I found myself every time I wrote.

I write to share my story, out of fear that it is not exclusive to me, I write to cry to the world when my tears have dried up, I write to make sense of things, I write to experience that feeling, that sensation you get with your head bowed down and a pen in your hand, the words flowing, ideas pouring and from just one letter to many pages being filled with an imagery of my thoughts laid down in minutes.

I write to create
I write when I find love
I write when I’m inspired
I write when my favourite football team wins a game
I write when an item on the bucket list is ticked
I write when I see that golden smile on my mother’s face
I write, yes, I write.

Next time I’m asked #WhyDoIWrite, I will boldly say even though I don’t write as much as I wished; I write because it is God’s little light in me and I will let it shine.

N.B: God bless Timi, God bless Yomi Kazeem and God bless Tobi Akinrelere aka Mr Quaint for the support given to my writing.

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

