RE: What’s Your Favourite Scripture? Why?

Potter and Clay

You know that moment when you are listening to a song and you finally realize the meaning of a line or some lines or the entire song itself, well I just had one of those.

You know that moment when you are reading a book, and you come across a line or statement, and it suddenly evokes trains of thoughts in your mind, the complexities of the layers of meanings seemingly embedded in that line or statement might even cause you to temporarily stop reading and ponder, capture some of those trains and let the rail track(s) lead to your note or thinking journal. Well, I didn’t just have one of those.

I made a mental note to write this post immediately I got the idea, but somehow I forgot.

I guess it’s true what they say; “the faintest ink beats the strongest memory”.

But what if I putit down in one of my many thinking journals, and I haven’t just gotten back to it because I forgot where I put the journal. Back to the memory thing again I guess.

The reason for the post.

Indeed, there I go again; wandering off the original lane of thought.

I received an email not too long ago (I hope) – a new post on one of my favorite blogs, and the author was talking about favorite verses of the bible, instead of commenting, I decided to write a short blog post on my “current” one (favorite bible verse that is). What’s your favorite scripture? Why?

Here goes;

Romans 9:17-23 King James Version (KJV)

17 For the scripture saith unto Pharaoh, Even for this same purpose have I raised thee up, that I might shew my power in thee, and that my name might be declared throughout all the earth.

18 Therefore hath he mercy on whom he will have mercy, and whom he will he hardeneth.

19 Thou wilt say then unto me, Why doth he yet find fault? For who hath resisted his will?

20 Nay but, O man, who art thou that repliest against God? Shall the thing formed say to him that formed it, Why hast thou made me thus?

21 Hath not the potter power over the clay, of the same lump to make one vessel unto honour, and another unto dishonour?

22 What if God, willing to shew his wrath, and to make his power known, endured with much longsuffering the vessels of wrath fitted to destruction:

23 And that he might make known the riches of his glory on the vessels of mercy, which he had afore prepared unto glory,

In particular verse 17, and here’s why;

You know that moment I was talking about at the beginning of the post where you are reading a book, blah, blah, blah…

Well, I was studying my bible (Romans chapter 9 to be specific) on a particular day, and that verse just had a whole new meaning to me. Another level of illumination you might say.

I like to think that I ‘feared’ God before I read that verse- again on that particular day, but since that moment, my ‘reverence’ for God and perspective on certain ‘things’ of God has changed.

I know that in the past, I had read the part of the bible in Exodus (I think) where the bible talks about how God hardened the art of Pharaoh, but when I read that verse, I had that moment – you know that one I was referring to.

That moment is definitely one I will look back on for the rest of my days, and hopefully be thankful.

I had (and still am) been studying on the ‘Glory of God’, the five Solas, and divine election.

I just thought I should share it. Well, not really, I had another one of those moments.

The one when you think your train of thought is amazing you can’t wait to share it with the ones that are willing to read or listen.

What’s your favorite scripture? Why?

10 comments

  1. ehiscombs · October 1, 2014

    One of my fav verses: God can do anything, you know, far more than you could imagine or guess or request IN YOUR WIlDEST DREAMS, he does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his spirit deeply and gently within us (Eph3:20, The Message Version)……. Why? The verse clearly states the awesome power of the God I serve, his ability to do things I can’t even dare to dream of and more importantly thru the spirit in me, that is he has deposited that power inside of me already, I carry within something incomprehensible…. Now this is Rhema

  2. Tony Michele · October 2, 2014

    Aha. That was the word I was not looking for but fits perfectly – ‘Rhema’.

    Indeed; more than our feeble minds can ever comprehend. According to the power that is at work in us; the Spirit that changes lives and hearts.

    Thanks for reading.

  3. L. Marie · April 27, 2015

    This one: May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope. (Romans 15:13) Because it is hopeful.

  4. Tony Michele · April 28, 2015

    True. Very hopeful. Thank you for commenting.

  5. hrh7 · July 31, 2015

    I don’t have a favourite scripture per second BT I especially like this one- Romans 8:28- All things work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose. And Hebrews 4: 16- Let us now come boldly to the throne of grace that we may receive His mercy and find grace to help in our troubled times.

    http://insearchofperfecthair.wordpress.com

  6. Tony Michele · August 2, 2015

    Of course. Indeed, all things work together according to His will and purpose.

  7. D'Dream · June 20

    My favorite scipture that keep me going is Psalm 84:11 which says “For the Lord God is a Sun and Shield; the Lord bestows [present] grace and favor and [future] glory (honor, splendor, and heavenly bliss)! No good thing will He withhold from those who walk uprightly”.(Amplified Bible)

  8. Tony Michele · June 20

    👌🏾

  9. Jessica · August 13

    Isaiah 61…from top to bottom…especially verse 3.
    why do I love Isaiah 61? *sigh*
    It reminds me of who God is…the one who can bring forth Gold from filth.
    Bring forth beautiful music from broken chords, take the lowly and adorn them in purple.
    Reminds me of the fact that he can use your some what crooked life as an instrument of his glorious testimony.
    And that no matter how dark you think your life is…He is ready&more than willing to trade his beautiful colourful canvas for your canvas covered in nothing but ash…if you’ld just let him.😊😊

  10. Tony Michele · August 14

    Hmmm. Becoming vessels of mercy as predestined for His glory.

    Thank you for sharing Jessica 🙂

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

