Musings : Perspective/Truth – The Way That Seemeth Right

Perspective

Finally succumbing to the need to express myself and let it all out.

Hoping I can overcome my obsessive compulsion and post this piece no matter how incomplete it may be – or seem to me.

Recently, I had the privilege of meeting two guys from Nigeria while out of Nigeria and while I was skeptical of ‘bonding’ with them just because we were Nigerians not in/out of Nigeria; Imagine my surprise when we (mostly the two of them) finally settled on an argument or should I say discussion on the interpretation of a couple of verses from the bible. I was more than glad that I decided to or should I say was strongly urged to be ‘more sociable’ in my new environment.

Anyways, back to the discussion, I had just discussed on this same subject with a very wonderful poet on twitter a couple of months or weeks back, and I couldn’t help myself, but smile.

Coincidence
I used to believe in them
I might still believe in them
I’m not always sure if I do or don’t
It’s all subjective

Perspective
When one is able to consider things from different point of views
Double minded – or should I say trouble minded

The issue of discussion was on whether as a ‘Christian’ brother or sister (since we were all brothers), one was allowed to marry an ‘unbeliever’.

The verses of debate were:

1 Corinthians 7:12-13 King James Version (KJV)

12 But to the rest speak I, not the Lord: If any brother hath a wife that believeth not, and she be pleased to dwell with him, let him not put her away.

13 And the woman which hath an husband that believeth not, and if he be pleased to dwell with her, let her not leave him.

and

2 Corinthians 6:14-17 King James Version (KJV)

14 Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? and what communion hath light with darkness?

While Brother Kay’s views and mine were in agreement, Brother Dee did not quite agree with us. After trying to explain logically (and with other verses of scripture) I believe the exact meaning of the verses in question, I decided (not quite as I gave up partly because he kept pointing out that he had a ‘PGD in Theology’) to let Brother Kay do the rest of the talking and at the beginning of his proposition on the verses, he made a statement which has quite frankly stayed with me – “I know that you can make the bible to say what you want it to say, but….”.

Very interesting and thought provoking statement (obviously I think so, I’m writing a couple of hundred words ‘cos of it).

After pondering and ruminating on the statement, I can only say that is a scary thing to imagine.

While what you “make it say” does not necessarily translate to the correct interpretation or meaning(s), it is scary to think of the misdirections, lies, deceits and losses that abounds from the truth in that statement.

Let us pray and hope
That we be not found in that way
– That way that seem-eth right
But endeavor to be in
That which is

 

Grace & Peace be unto you.

12 comments

  1. ehiscombs · September 29, 2014

    Nicely penned as always, the struggles we young christians face in deciding if as God has adjusted to times in dealing with man, shud we also adjust standards in dealing with him…….. My point at the end, Let God’s words and ways be true, even if all men are liars, no twist, no turns, no shifting to trends, as the word explicitly says, let’s work towards living such….

  2. Tony Michele · September 30, 2014

    Indeed, In these days of many twists and turns, sugar coated lies and itching ears, Let us continue to press on toward the mark.

    Thank you.

  3. Oludapo Tolulope | lifegiva2 · November 7, 2014

    Hmm…a prevalent situation in the church right now…the concluding prayer is key. The bible is not open to anyone’s perspective, it’s divine, it’s definite. So help me God, ‘cos it’s very easy to be deceived.
    Thanks for this post.

  4. Tony Michele · November 7, 2014

    Indeed. Wide is the path that leads to destruction. May God help us.

  5. Emily J. Shiflet · December 31, 2014

    Great topic! What is even more frightening is the fact that the propensity to twist scripture and convince ourselves of a lie /does not even disturb/ many Christians. They are so convinced that their private interpretation is correct that they don’t want to hear that their hermeneutic may be wrong. Funny, I’ve got an article in cue for around April on this topic…

  6. Tony Michele · December 31, 2014

    Thank you. Indeed, very frightening realizations.
    I will be looking forward to your post in the New Year then.
    Grace & Peace be unto you. Happy Holidays.

  7. Pingback: 3/9/15 Morning Musing:  Crow Isn’t Quite as Bad Once You Develop a Taste For It. | angelfacedaggie
  8. onyinyechio · March 18, 2015

    OMG… straight from my heart to my screen.

  9. Tony Michele · April 14, 2015

    Thank you. Straight from my heart to your screen. 🙂

  10. Tony Michele · February 7, 2016

    Did the article ever get published? Shoot me a link if it did. I’m not sure if I have gotten to it. Bless

  11. Emily J. Shiflet · February 7, 2016

    Yes, it did! Here’s the link: https://livinginheavensshadow.wordpress.com/2015/04/08/aesops-fable-3/

    I’m honored you remembered to ask about it! I’d love to hear your thoughts on it.

  12. Tony Michele · February 8, 2016

    Of course! I started reading the third part of the series and I already know it would be interesting. The CS Lewis analogy is on point. I hope to get somewhere comfortable to read and meditate on it soon. Bless.

    Can I just mention again that ‘the soul you loved’ is beautiful. 👍🏾

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

