Musings : Becoming

IMG_0343

Becoming.

This is one word that has been on my conscious subconsciously for the past few days.

Sometimes (quite often than I care to count) when I reminisce and reflect on my previous posts on my blogs among other things; I think to myself – perhaps you should just delete these posts.

They certainly don’t represent who I am now, who I am becoming.

Most times, i overcome these urges by the simple fact that certain people still find some succor between the lines of my writings.

Recently, I read a quote in a blog post, and the quote says; “We are always becoming…who we will be”, and it has stuck with me.

“Read. Reflect. Write.”

Write from the heart
Write for the heart
Write for the art
Art from the heart

This is certainly the case in my situation.

Anytime I’m feeling nostalgic and decide to go down memory lane (so to speak) and read the previous posts, sometimes I feel ashamed that I cared so deeply about such things, sometimes I’m amazed how apt those words truly describe my thoughts and feelings at that moment in time and sometimes I wish I could delete them and never have to worry about them again.

But.

True art should represent where the artist is at in his life at the moment of creation, at least little pieces of him.

And this is what I believe these posts, random thoughts, rants et al represent; art.

While I might still feel ashamed or amazed, I believe they represent and testify to the process of becoming.

We are always becoming.

Grace & Peace.

5 comments

  1. FAVORED WOMAN (@4LaH) · June 29, 2014

    Yeah. indeed. “we are always becoming…”

  2. livelytwist · July 7, 2014

    So true, we are always becoming. Perhaps the previous blog posts can show you just how far along you’ve come . . .

  3. KerryTosan · August 12, 2014

    Reblogged this on Oritsegbemi Live!.

  4. me · January 21, 2016

    This! Is just the train of thought ‘ve been on all day, and indeed, for the past few days. Nostalgia. Reminiscence. Embarrassment. Wonderment. Today, I came across old FB posts of mine from as far back as ’10/’11 and I thought to myself — I cant believe I wrote this! It’s just I think ‘ve changed so much, and those words, the manner in which I wrote them, and the lack of depth and coherence don’t depict the woman I am now but I think that growth is much more appreciated in light of how far we’ve come, more than where we are now.

    Nice post! And I am so glad ‘m not alone on this thought. Hehe. 😀

  5. Tony Michele · January 21, 2016

    Indeed :). Often, one’s supposed idiosyncrasies once shared seize to be one’s – that’s the beauty and the curse of the Internet.

    Thank you!

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

