Musings: Truth Branding?

20140423-214827.jpg

I’m in church and I hear the pastor say he’s “marketing kingdom principles”, my spirit is troubled.

I go to the Church bookshop and I see a book laying on the shelf titled “Church Branding”. I’m baffled.

What exactly are they selling or trying to?

From my very limited knowledge of marketing or branding, it usually involves the magnifying of the good and neglect or covering up of the bad or some form of manipulation.

The Gospel is the truth, and the truth never leaves everyone the same. Some would leave with a bittersweet feeling, some hurt, some in denial, some angry at you and the message you proclaim. Simply put, the truth never pleases everyone.

“The truth hurts but let it simmer in so your soul surrenders control.”

The Gospel of Jesus Christ that I know and know about is not one for all, at least not yet, they can hear it, accept it, reject it, refuse it but it is what it is.

“The truth is the truth whether you accept it or not. Selah.” – C-Slake

Truth is not supposed to be “branded” or sugar coated. How about we just say it like it is? And call it like it seems?

But then, what do I know?

Shalom.

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

