What Do I Really Know

20120929-184028.jpg

“As I look up to the sky, I thought of a 100 things to do before I die…….”

“Can I do it in one day? Cos it might all end in one night……”

Some select lyrics from Big Sean’s “100” track off his “Detroit” mixtape…….Time and again I’m reminded that YOLO……even though we all claim to have known this already……even before the “phrase” or “word” became popular……I’ll like to think we all knew…..even wrote some lines about it, but….the sad truth that we fail to acknowledge is that even though deep down we knew this to be the fact, we chose and still choose to ignore it……..we just accept this truth, and we bury it deep down and move on……the phrase that comes to mind is; “…..you shall know the truth, and the truth shall set you free….”, can we really know this truth?…..do we have to wait until we come face to face with death……that popular moment that your whole life flashes before your eyes……would it be worth watching?……Reminiscing on…….I think not…..speaking for myself……we claim to know this truth…..do we? And if yes, has it really set you free?……….when I first listened to this track, I was like…..Timilehin, if you were to die in 24 hours, list ten things you want to do before you die…..and I couldn’t…..at that moment….a part of myself was disappointed with myself for that, but like ab-soul said; “….what do I really know…..”, I’ll like to continue writing but…..

“….treat every moment like it could be your last time, that’s what I learned last time…..” – Ab-Soul

Soul Brother #3

4 comments

  1. tosinadeda · September 29, 2012

    Thanks for playing with my head o … Lol

  2. tosinadeda · September 29, 2012

    Hian … Why u dey use our head play

  3. theinsanephenom · September 30, 2012

    Good stuff. (Y)

  4. theinsanephenom · September 30, 2012

    Good Stuff (Y)

I'm curious, what did you think? Talk to me; leave a comment

